FUR OUT THE CLOSET:

Home » animal rights » NOT A LONE WOLF: Can activism be solitary?

NOT A LONE WOLF: Can activism be solitary?

WELCOME TO MY BLOG: YOUR VISIT IS MOST APPRECIATED. YOUR CYBER COMPANY IS THE ONLY REWARD I WANT:) THIS IS A NON-AWARD BLOG ~ THANK YOU

ALL SUPPORT IS MOST APPRECIATED.

FUR OUT THE CLOSET IS AN AWARD FREE BLOG: Thank you for visiting.

Follow FUR OUT THE CLOSET: on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,658 other followers

Emy Will

Emy Will

Greetings from Johannesburg, South Africa. Although I have a doctorate in psychotherapy, my main passion is advocating for nonhuman animal rights. I condemn all cruelty to nonhuman animals and therefore follow a vegan lifestyle. I would like to connect with other animal activists from all over the world. The fur trade is one of the most abhorrent practices on this planet. Innocent animals are subjected to prolonged suffering for a trivial fashion item. As the chairperson of Fur Free SA. we campaign towards ending the global fur industry. This might not happen in my lifetime, but even if I leave one footprint behind, that is one step closer to the goal. This blog is a forum to discuss all aspects of the fur industry. It also raises issues around animal activism in general. Johannesburg is a crazy city and I need to escape from time to time. This photo was taken next to the magnificent Zambezi river.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

While campaigning against Erich Fischer Furriers and Investec I had to do a lot of questioning as to where I fitted into the bigger, often confusing,  picture of animal activism.

To approach a huge corporation such as Investec Ltd. in the role of an animal activist would have been a lost cause, before it had even begun.

Animal Activists are often labeled eccentric, overly emotional, impulsive “bunny huggers” and part of the lunatic fringe.

Many have a fondness for tattoos. animal rights activist

Earlier this year, a Buddhist monk self-immolated in protest against the halal method of killing cattle. Some believe, though, that this was a more an anti-Muslim statement than one for the animals.

Read more http://drstevebest.wordpress.com/2013/05/27/buddhist-monk-self-immolates-to-protest-cattle-slaughter-in-sri-lanka/

          I also found this on the internet about Animal Rights Activists   anti animal activists

I think you get the point that Animal activists are not taken that seriously.

So initially I took the   “Lone Wolf ” approach.  When referring to a person, a Lone Wolf is an individual who prefers solitude, is introverted, or who works alone.  In many ways I am not a team player, and I certainly will never be the one holding the megaphone at a demonstration. But whatever I have committed to do I do to the best of my ability.

So I approached Investec as an outraged consumer and a respectable professional (I practice a s a clinical psychologist).

Yet everything I did was discussed with FURfree SA. When my campaign went into a phase of e-mailing Investec,  FURfree SA circulated this request to all their members.

Now that I am working towards getting fur banned in South Africa, everything I do is endorsed by FUR Free SA and Beauty Without Cruelty.Fur Free SA

The report to be given to an MP, although  spearheaded by myself will have FUR Free SA’s stamp on it.

This campaign is something that no Lone Wolf can do.

If fact, other than self-immolation where nobody wants to hold your hand, I don’t believe that animal activism can be a solitary activity. What do you think?

I want to share the quote below. I came across it when I was feeling particularly despondent by the lack of success I was having.

For me these words are inspirational and ones that every animal activist should remember.

wolves

14 Comments

  1. I encourage in your efforts. I believe in standing up to bring an end to cruelty and refusing to be bullied. I like the quotation.

    Like

    • Emy Wilhelm says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words Andrea:) Yes, silence can be a worse crime in certain situations. We have to be the voice for the voiceless.

      Like

  2. Nancy says:

    Love this! Along with the Serenity Prayer.
    God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change
    Courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference. Amen

    Like

    • Emy Wilhelm says:

      Thank you Nancy, for reminding me of the Serenity Prayer, which does provide comfort at times. It is the guiding principle when things seem too much.I have learnt, though, that all of us fighting for the rights of animals have days of despair. On those days support from others is so important:)

      Like

  3. Carol says:

    With you all the way, dear friend. I read all your posts and follow your links. There are sure to be so many more like me who don’t leave comments but are out here and with you.

    Like

    • Emy Wilhelm says:

      Thank you dearest Carol for those words of support:) As you know in South Africa, where human rights are a priority, people don’t always agree with fighting for animal rights. Yet the two are so linked. Compassion for animals can only lead to compassion for people. I am so glad that these are the values you have instilled into Olivia – our next generation:)

      Like

      • Vegan Rabbit says:

        I wholeheartedly agree. Intersectionality is a reality. We cannot hope to end one system of oppression unless we take a stand against all systems of oppression.

        Like

  4. Chris says:

    I am very much a lone wolf and find it very difficult to work in any form of group. But support of causes can take may forms and even a lone wolf can contribute in their own way.

    Like

    • Emy Wilhelm says:

      So true Chris. I think a Lone Wolf can often see things that a group “hysteria” misses. We all have a role in this fight for the voiceless.

      Like

    • Emy Will says:

      Thanks so much for following my blog and for the reblog. It is good to connect with people who care about animals. All the best.

      Like

  5. Vegan Rabbit says:

    You’re not alone. I’m right there with you. ❤

    This might brighten your day just a little:

    http://veganrabbit.com/2013/04/15/superhero-vegan-similarities/

    Like

    • Emy Will says:

      Love it – thank you so much. I have added the post to my favourites so that I can revisit it. Its so good to connect with like-minded people:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

