FUR OUT THE CLOSET:

Home » animal rights » WOW: Wonderful Other WordPress bloggers -2013

WOW: Wonderful Other WordPress bloggers -2013

WELCOME TO MY BLOG: YOUR VISIT IS MOST APPRECIATED. YOUR CYBER COMPANY IS THE ONLY REWARD I WANT:) THIS IS A NON-AWARD BLOG ~ THANK YOU

ALL SUPPORT IS MOST APPRECIATED.

FUR OUT THE CLOSET IS AN AWARD FREE BLOG: Thank you for visiting.

Follow FUR OUT THE CLOSET: on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,658 other followers

Emy Will

Emy Will

Greetings from Johannesburg, South Africa. Although I have a doctorate in psychotherapy, my main passion is advocating for nonhuman animal rights. I condemn all cruelty to nonhuman animals and therefore follow a vegan lifestyle. I would like to connect with other animal activists from all over the world. The fur trade is one of the most abhorrent practices on this planet. Innocent animals are subjected to prolonged suffering for a trivial fashion item. As the chairperson of Fur Free SA. we campaign towards ending the global fur industry. This might not happen in my lifetime, but even if I leave one footprint behind, that is one step closer to the goal. This blog is a forum to discuss all aspects of the fur industry. It also raises issues around animal activism in general. Johannesburg is a crazy city and I need to escape from time to time. This photo was taken next to the magnificent Zambezi river.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter


Although this post is addressed to WordPress bloggers I sincerely thank everyone who visits my blog, be it through e-mail or another blog site.

A year ago I did not even know what a blog was. Now look at me – totally hooked:) I enjoy the diversity of the blogging world and connecting with people globally.  

Those who follow my simple blog are all wonderful, compassionate human beings. You might ask how I know that? Well a blog about the fur industry is hardly a happy topic, so you must care about this issue and probably support other animal rights causes.

The notion of receiving WordPress community awards had not crossed my mind until several awards recently came my way. Award nominations help bloggers to discover new blogs and appreciate each other. So in no particular order I thank the following bloggers for their nominations.

~ Dear Kitty. Some blog (http://dearkitty1.wordpress.com/) first introduced me to blog awards by generously nominating two awards to me ~  

1. Blog of the Year 2013  

 2. Parliament Award                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

Blog of The Year 2013 AwardFor the Blog of the Year award I in turn nominated:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          

1. Celeste from Honk if You’re Vegan (http://honkifyourevegan.com).  Celeste has a friendly, personal style to her posts, which include Celeste’s family life. As Celeste’s blog is  about her journey in adopting a vegan lifestyle she discusses issues around this subject. Many delicious vegan recipes can be found on this blog.                                                                                                            2. Amelia from Mungai and the Boa Constrictor (http://aecurzon.wordpress.com/). Amelia is both an author and a blogger and her blog title comes from her published children’s book . The presentation of Amelia’s blog is stunning. Many of her posts raise concerns about endangered animals and the environment – this blog is a wealth of information.                                                                                                                             

Wolves and owlsA group of owls is called a parliament and this award signifies friendship and togetherness. In this context, owls symbolise wisdom and love and wolves symbolise strength, loyalty and family.  

Inspired by the diary of Anne Frank and perhaps by her own life experience, Dear Kitty started her “many-sided” diary/blog some time ago. If  it matters, Dear Kitty will post it. She sources videos from all over the world and includes these in her posts. I particularly enjoy the delightful animal videos, which often capture fine detail. Dear Kitty is a dedicated  blogger who readily affirms other bloggers. Thank you, Dear Kitty, for making me feel welcome.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       ~ Carina, whose blog is Wolf is my Soul (http://telania.wordpress.com), kindly nominated me for the ABC Award ~

Awesome Blog Content AwardCarina is passionate about animals and nature. Living in Sweden, Carina confronts several animal rights issues. Fur farms still exist in Sweden! Although Carina focuses on the plight of wolves she is willing to share posts and raise awareness around all animal welfare. Thank you Carina for your support.

~ It was a pleasant surprise when Queenzdesire, all the way from India, nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award   (http://queenzdesire.wordpress.com/~

Queenzdesire is a blog about jewelery.  I like the fact that her jewelry is eco – friendly and includes ethic designs. The terracotta jewelry particularly has an earthy feel to it. Thank you Queenzdesire for taking an interest in my blog.

~ It was a privilege to have Vijay, an enthusiastic, young, bright blogger send me three awards ~

  • 1. Versatile blogger Award – already received from Queenzdesire
  • 2. 
  • Imagine Award
  •  
  • 3. Dragon Loyalty Award

Vijay’s blog title, HalfEatenMind (http://halfeatenmind.wordpress.com), tells us he has a quirky sense of humour. As a rule of the Imagine Award here are my comments about Vijay:

  1. He has a degree from a London university and aspires to be a journalist
  2. He is an extremely talented writer and appreciates good puns
  3. Despite a mix of ethnic influences, Vijay is Hindu
  4. He has a deep bond with his sister, Anjali
  5. He believes in social responsibility
  6. He is disgusted by animal cruelty                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

  ~ A warm thank you to Carmen from For a Better Earth (http://artforconservationbycarmenmandel.wordpress.com/) for the Sunshine Award ~
Carmen is a conservation photographer and selflessly donates 100% of her profits to animal charities. Carmen’s posts fit with the theme “For A Better Earth”, be they about people, animals or the planet. You can also find her amazing work on her blog. Carmen is  truly inspirational.

~ Susan from Sunny Side Up (http://sunnysideupblog.ca)  nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award and acknowledged me as one of the I Am Part Of The WordPress Family ~wordpressfam1                                                                                                                                                                                                     

Two words describe Susan’s blog – compassionate and creative. There is a diverse range of topics on Susan’s posts from jewelry to animal welfare. As Susan’s blog title indicates, Susan’s approach to life is positive and I greatly appreciate the time she took to read my blog 🙂

~ Brigid from Ariston Organic – “The Best of the Best” (http://aristonorganic.com)generously gave me three awards ~  

Like me, Brigid is a “Proudly South African” blogger. The difference is that I live in a sprawling crime – ridden city, whereas Brigid inhabits a slice of paradise near the sea from where she can view penguins and seals. No wonder Brigid is inspired to preserve this habitat. Her blog is about organic gardening and ways to protect eco-systems. Brigid includes her amazing photographs, which are a joy to look at.

Thanks to Brigid, I now have a second star on the Blog of the Year award,                                                                                                                                         Blog of The Year 2013 Award

An award of Excellencewordpress excellence award  wordpressfam1 and I Am now Part Of The WordPress Family.  

I deliberately end with this award, as it sums up what this is all about. I am now part of a blogging community who do not compete with each other but rather offer support and encouragement.

Some of the awards above request  information about myself.  So here I go:

  1. Animal abuse appalls me
  2. Cats are my passion. They don’t call me the crazy-cat-lady for nothing
  3. City life suits me but nature soothes me
  4. I fight for fur-bearing sentient beings and do not wear or eat any non-human animals
  5. I hate hunting, particularly canned hunting
  6. Exploitation of any vulnerable group angers me
  7. Excessive amounts of tea comforts me
  8. Gardening is a pleasure for me
  9. I fanatically support soccer. Liverpool is my team and I love its slogan “You Will Never Walk Alone
  10. I am addicted to watching DVDs – only classy ones of course 😉
  11. I have a PhD in psychotherapy and believe it is so important to teach children compassion for all living things

AFTER ALL THIS AFFIRMATION, ALL I CAN SAY IS WOW!!

HAVE A FULFILLING 2014

22 Comments

  1. Congratulations of the awards, you deserve them. 🙂 *Brigid

    Like

  2. Nancy says:

    Congratulations Emy! On all your awards,they are very much deserved‼

    Like

  3. petrel41 says:

    Well done, Emy 🙂 Thanks for your kind words! I would like to “like” this post as well, but at the moment the “like” button is playing up:)

    Happy 2014!

    Like

  4. Congratulations on all your awards, Emy. Well deserved. You do a wonderful job. 🙂 Thank you also for your kind nomination, my friend. I am honoured~ Amelia 🙂

    Like

  5. Dear Emy, thank you for your kind words about my works. Congratulations on your awards and recognition, they provide strength and support to continue shedding light in the darkness of cruelty. I liked reading about you and #11 truly touched my heart.

    May this year see respite in all forms of suffering.

    Like

  6. Thanks so much for nomination Emy – I really appreciate it!! It’s nice to have other bloggers out there that care about animals. We’re all in this together Emy and I appreciate your support. Celeste 🙂

    Like

  7. Hi Emy
    Congrats on all of your nominations. That’s quite a treasure trove there 🙂
    I really like the write-up you did on me and the blog. You have me figured to a T 🙂

    Keep up the good work, and here’s hoping to a fur and cruelty free South Africa…and one day…the world.

    Like

  8. Dear Emy! Thank you for the nomination of the ABC Award! I have no idea how I could have missed this blog and I feel utterly ashamed but I hope to redeem myself by being more vigilant in the future. I also want to congratulate you on all your nominations and awards!! Perhaps someday I too will have earned as many, but I imagine it’s a long road to get there, lol.
    Cyberhugs and peace, Carina

    Like

    • Oops, major mistake here… seems comments can’t be edited, bummer. Strike the the first sentence (since it was I who nominated you) the rest of the comment is right. It was late last night when I received a new award nomination – have to retrace my steps since hubby turned off the computer before I had a chance to respond. Sorry about the mess-up. ❤

      Like

      • Emy Will says:

        Absolutely no problem Carina 😀

        I know what you mean about the ‘not being able to edit’ comments – many a time I wish I had not been so quick to press that post button.

        Warm wishes, Emy

        Like

  9. […] WOW: Wonderful Other WordPress bloggers -2013 […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

