FUR OUT THE CLOSET:

Home » animal rights » VAUTE COUTURE: Ethically cool

VAUTE COUTURE: Ethically cool

WELCOME TO MY BLOG: YOUR VISIT IS MOST APPRECIATED. YOUR CYBER COMPANY IS THE ONLY REWARD I WANT:) THIS IS A NON-AWARD BLOG ~ THANK YOU

ALL SUPPORT IS MOST APPRECIATED.

FUR OUT THE CLOSET IS AN AWARD FREE BLOG: Thank you for visiting.

Follow FUR OUT THE CLOSET: on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,662 other followers

Emy Will

Emy Will

Greetings from Johannesburg, South Africa. Although I have a doctorate in psychotherapy, my main passion is advocating for nonhuman animal rights. I condemn all cruelty to nonhuman animals and therefore follow a vegan lifestyle. I would like to connect with other animal activists from all over the world. The fur trade is one of the most abhorrent practices on this planet. Innocent animals are subjected to prolonged suffering for a trivial fashion item. As the chairperson of Fur Free SA. we campaign towards ending the global fur industry. This might not happen in my lifetime, but even if I leave one footprint behind, that is one step closer to the goal. This blog is a forum to discuss all aspects of the fur industry. It also raises issues around animal activism in general. Johannesburg is a crazy city and I need to escape from time to time. This photo was taken next to the magnificent Zambezi river.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

My family has recovered from my comment,“now that I am an animal rights activist my grooming is going to slide”. This statement was not an indictment on the dress taste of AR activists but rather my intention to fully dedicate my time to animal rights work. So my husband saved me from myself by buying me some really cool anti-fur tops from Vaute Couture

Spelled for Haute Couture with a V for Vegan, but said like VOTE —VAUTE is an independent fashion house run by Leanne Mai-ly Hilgart. Leanne gave up her modelling career to develop “cruelty-free fashion that’s way better than wearing animals ever could be”. Their clothes might be more expensive than our local Mister Price but, hey, they not made in China and make a fabulous gift. Tee shirts, as seen below, are part of their ware.

Tee shirtNever fur

Vaute Couture
VautcoutureNo! This lovely lady, in another cool top, is not me. She is Jane Halevy ~ a true role model to anti-fur activists ~ of the International Anti-Fur Coalition (IAFC).                                              furbidden

The IAFC operates worldwide, working to end the atrocities of the fur industry. For example, IAFC campaigned alongside animal rights organisations in Israel to ban fur in Israel. Jane argued, “this legislation will save millions of innocent animals from being slaughtered for a needless twisted fashion”.

IAFC also have the Fur is Red and Furbidden campaigns.

11 Comments

  1. Stacey says:

    Love them! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I want that shirt!!!

    Like

  3. Lee Hall says:

    Because I’m not keen on the loud crowd style of activism associated with many anti-fur campaign groups, this kind of thing, and badges and so forth, tend to be my chosen manner of spreading the message that rejects animal skin and hair as fashion. I’m sure you look great in your tops, Emy!

    Like

    • Emy Will says:

      Well, thank you Lee. Yes tee shirts etc. can draw attention to a cause, even at a subliminal level. I also feel people who are running ethical businesses should be supported.

      Activism is multi-facetted so I think there is a place for demonstrations. I realise, though, that this can create an impression that AR activists are part of the lunatic fringe 😛

      Like

      • Lee Hall says:

        Yes. Demonstrations can be vital, but I tend to think dignified, well-planned ones leading that mark phases to a movement’s goals are the effective ones. Some give the impression of bursts of anger, and I think the observer senses that and even comes to expect it. I’ve also noticed the loud, angry demos can upset the activists themselves, leading, in more than a few activists, to bitterness and burnout. Much depends on cultivating a broad base with a principled mission and ultimate goals.

        The vegan activist Rae Sikora talks about being a ‘walking billboard` for a cause and how effective that can be. I think the snug, ethical shirts can express a lot in a positive way. Check Herbivore http://www.herbivoreclothing.com/‎ for some interesting stuff too.

        Like

      • Emy Will says:

        Lee, what a fabulous link you have led me to!
        I will definitely be partaking of retail therapy here. If I call it therapy that will justify all the money I spend 😉

        BIG thank you.

        Like

  4. carmen says:

    Great post Emy!! Great shop–I’ve been there with my daughter Jean, in NYC!

    Here’s Jean’s post about the gorgeous coat she bought online. We bought several items while in NYC.

    http://jeanofalltrades.wordpress.com/2013/12/18/my-new-vaute-couture-coat/

    And here’s my post about our stop and shop at Vaute Couture …

    http://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/a-vacation-from-my-problems/

    I got teary-eyed when I walked into the shop, just knowing there are people who care!! A little dog was peacefully sleeping on the counter.

    With compassion,
    ♥ carmen

    BTW – your link for VAUTE COUTURE is not working when I clicked.

    Like

    • Emy Will says:

      Hi Carmen. How amazing that you actually went to Vaute Couture. I have to order on amazon.

      I read Jean’s post. I didn’t realise you were related, as you look too young to have an adult daughter 😉
      I have been following Jean’s blog for some time and now I’m so glad to have connected with you as well.

      Like

  5. Lee Hall says:

    Whoops! You can edit that extra word ‘leading’ out if you want 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

