FUR OUT THE CLOSET:

Home » animal rights » STICK UP FOR BUMPER STICKERS!

STICK UP FOR BUMPER STICKERS!

WELCOME TO MY BLOG: YOUR VISIT IS MOST APPRECIATED. YOUR CYBER COMPANY IS THE ONLY REWARD I WANT:) THIS IS A NON-AWARD BLOG ~ THANK YOU

ALL SUPPORT IS MOST APPRECIATED.

FUR OUT THE CLOSET IS AN AWARD FREE BLOG: Thank you for visiting.

Follow FUR OUT THE CLOSET: on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,658 other followers

Emy Will

Emy Will

Greetings from Johannesburg, South Africa. Although I have a doctorate in psychotherapy, my main passion is advocating for nonhuman animal rights. I condemn all cruelty to nonhuman animals and therefore follow a vegan lifestyle. I would like to connect with other animal activists from all over the world. The fur trade is one of the most abhorrent practices on this planet. Innocent animals are subjected to prolonged suffering for a trivial fashion item. As the chairperson of Fur Free SA. we campaign towards ending the global fur industry. This might not happen in my lifetime, but even if I leave one footprint behind, that is one step closer to the goal. This blog is a forum to discuss all aspects of the fur industry. It also raises issues around animal activism in general. Johannesburg is a crazy city and I need to escape from time to time. This photo was taken next to the magnificent Zambezi river.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

~ A bumper sticker is an adhesive label or sticker with a message, intended to be attached to the bumper of an automobile and to be read by the occupants of other vehicles (Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia).

~ STICK UP means to stand up for somebody or something.

This was not my experience in my recent bumper sticker campaign.                                                                                                                                                        sticker

A fellow anti-fur activist has set a web page:

http://www.furkills.co.za – Get the facts about the fur industry before spending your money.  

As part of our anti-fur campaign I thought it a good idea to give BUMPER STICKERS, as above, to people sympathetic to our cause. I was so enthusiastic that I paid for 1 500 stickers and was ready to print more! 

Clearly I have been living in a fur-free cave for the past few decades, as bumper stickers are no longer popular. Some responses were, ‘I don’t do bumper stickers’, ‘No, not on my car’ and ‘I don’t have a bumper’.

I was surprised Surprised expression

Many years ago when I used to drive to university, bumper stickers were spotted on just about every car, similar to this arbitrary car below.                                          

For some reason only known to the universe I would regularly find myself behind  a student car with the following bumper sticker slogan.

Save the Whales. Harpoon a fat chick.

To this day I am not sure what this slogan means. I have a strong feeling, though, that it has nothing to do with whales but is sexist and offensive to women.

Of course what would really save the whales is if people stopped killing them!

However, the good news is that I persuaded some people to  stick the bumper stickers anywhere, including on the back of public toilet doors where there is briefly a captive audience.

6 Comments

  1. I’m of the age of paper bumper stickers with adhesive backing that were incredibly difficult to remove after they washed out, even on chrome bumpers. Days have changed with the advent of vinyl stickers. We’ve two cars both with stickers, but placed on the rear window. V for Vegan – An uncompromising vision of the future.

    I like yours. It’s an eye-catcher with its red background and, at first instant glance, to me, it looked like FURK ILLS which really caught my attention.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emy Will says:

      Thanks very much Peter.
      “Of the age”… Remember the age when we played “vinyls” and when a web site was a place where spiders hung out.
      But if it was not for the technological revolution we would not be “speaking” now.

      V for vegan, is the best age to be in ❤
      Warm wishes,
      Emy

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Chris says:

    Pity we cant stick one on every fur coat

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cinnabar50 says:

    Love the sticker, great idea about toilet doors. I have had a similar idea with posters. I intend to do this soon with a anti hunting campaign. Even if they are only there a day before the toilet cleaner or attendant removes them, a great many people would have seen them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

