FUR OUT THE CLOSET:

Home » animal rights » MAX: Street-wise

MAX: Street-wise

WELCOME TO MY BLOG: YOUR VISIT IS MOST APPRECIATED. YOUR CYBER COMPANY IS THE ONLY REWARD I WANT:) THIS IS A NON-AWARD BLOG ~ THANK YOU

ALL SUPPORT IS MOST APPRECIATED.

FUR OUT THE CLOSET IS AN AWARD FREE BLOG: Thank you for visiting.

Follow FUR OUT THE CLOSET: on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,659 other followers

Emy Will

Emy Will

Greetings from Johannesburg, South Africa. Although I have a doctorate in psychotherapy, my main passion is advocating for nonhuman animal rights. I condemn all cruelty to nonhuman animals and therefore follow a vegan lifestyle. I would like to connect with other animal activists from all over the world. The fur trade is one of the most abhorrent practices on this planet. Innocent animals are subjected to prolonged suffering for a trivial fashion item. As the chairperson of Fur Free SA. we campaign towards ending the global fur industry. This might not happen in my lifetime, but even if I leave one footprint behind, that is one step closer to the goal. This blog is a forum to discuss all aspects of the fur industry. It also raises issues around animal activism in general. Johannesburg is a crazy city and I need to escape from time to time. This photo was taken next to the magnificent Zambezi river.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

max1
MAX AND HIS HUMAN

When I was in the UK recently, I frequently observed a destitute person “begging” with his or her dog.

I realise sometimes this is a ploy to gain sympathy from people like me. In South Africa the destitute “use” babies and blind people to get sympathy from people other than myself.

However, this twosome caught my eye, as the man genuinely seems to care about MAX, his dog.

I never did find out the name of Max’s human  

 max

LET US NOT LOSE SIGHT OF THE SMALL ACTS OF KINDNESS AMONG SO MUCH SUFFERING IN THIS WORLD.

HAVE A BEAUTIFUL WEEKEND !

9 Comments

  1. cinnabar50 says:

    I think most homeless people here in the UK who beg on the streets like this care for their dogs who are for them good company and maybe their only real companion.I must just add that it is shameful that so many people here in the UK are homeless in the seventh richest country. I am I admit more likely to give to someone who has dog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emy Will says:

      That’s good to know, cinnabar 🙂 Max was certainly a chunky fellow with a sweet disposition.
      I know it’s not really fair but I also tend to give to someone with a dog – well there are 2 mouths to feed after all.
      The levels of unemployment are worrying. At least the UK has social security. Here in South Africa there is no support and so the levels of crime are shocking. Of course many people living here are from other parts of Africa, as poverty is even worse there.

      Take care,
      Emy

      Like

  2. Dionysus Amber says:

    It’s often difficult for middle-class people like us to understand how these people ended up in the situation they are in. I met a public school chap the other week,whom had fallen on bad times because of a marriage break-up. He had a dog,and I felt sorry for the dog, yet also sympathised with the owner,because he did love his dog so.

    You raised a very interesting point. In the UK we most definitely do get homeless people whom use their dogs to get sympathy and money. Which to my mind is quite unacceptable, These dogs can’t be all that happy sitting on the cold hard concrete pavement all day.

    Yet,there are some loving owners whom simply can’t bear to be seperated from their dog. 🙂

    Like

    • Emy Will says:

      Thanks for that Adam 🙂

      I suppose one has to treat each situation on its own merit. Max seemed very comfy and was so friendly that I could see there was no fear of humans.

      Max’s human also had a marriage break-up and he owned up to getting money on the dole.

      In SA blind people are specifically trafficked to be exploited by immoral people. While I feel sorry for the blind folk, I know they probably dont “see” much of the money collected!

      All the best, Emy

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This post is so beautiful and touching in its simplicity. Thank you for sharing! I absolutely love Max. So cute.

    Like

  4. […] Patty (most notable), seen some amazing, compasionate, loving bloggers like petrel41 and even today Emy Will. I have seen people that care about what happends even if their tone is sometimes somewhat agressive […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

