FUR OUT THE CLOSET:

Home » animal rights » OUT OF SIGHT: But never out of mind

OUT OF SIGHT: But never out of mind

WELCOME TO MY BLOG: YOUR VISIT IS MOST APPRECIATED. YOUR CYBER COMPANY IS THE ONLY REWARD I WANT:) THIS IS A NON-AWARD BLOG ~ THANK YOU

ALL SUPPORT IS MOST APPRECIATED.
Follow FUR OUT THE CLOSET: on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,656 other followers

Emy Will

Emy Will

Greetings from Johannesburg, South Africa. Although I have a doctorate in psychotherapy, my main passion is advocating for nonhuman animal rights. I condemn all cruelty to nonhuman animals and therefore follow a vegan lifestyle. I would like to connect with other animal activists from all over the world. The fur trade is one of the most abhorrent practices on this planet. Innocent animals are subjected to prolonged suffering for a trivial fashion item. As the chairperson of Fur Free SA. we campaign towards ending the global fur industry. This might not happen in my lifetime, but even if I leave one footprint behind, that is one step closer to the goal. This blog is a forum to discuss all aspects of the fur industry. It also raises issues around animal activism in general. Johannesburg is a crazy city and I need to escape from time to time. This photo was taken next to the magnificent Zambezi river.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

As I sit gazing out my bathroom window (below) at the soft, refreshing Summer rain in Johannesburg, I don’t forget the animals murdered for their fur in the wintry Northern hemisphere.

rain

This is the time of the year when many “fur-bearing” animals are “harvested” i.e. killed solely for their fur ~ their wasted bodies discarded.

CARCASSES

Please don’t support the fur trade in any way!

 

 

8 Comments

  1. Heli Perälä says:

    Yes, November-December is “fur harvesting” season here near the Arctic Circle. During next few weeks 2 million foxes, raccoon dogs and minks will be be killed for their fur just here in Finland. It breaks my heart that my otherwise beautiful home country still allows this atrocity to go on 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emy Will says:

      Thank you for your comment, Heli. It is heartbreaking that this despicable fur trade continues. I know there were investigations in Finland revealing horrendous conditions, even on “origin assured” farms. Fur farming can NEVER be humane. Please know that there are many others who feel the way you do.
      The struggle continues.
      All the best
      Emy xxxxx

      Like

  2. Cold weather here brings out all the awful fur trimmed Canada Goose jackets. It’s almost impossible to be anywhere without it being literally in your face. Makes me sad & angry to see people still support this company even though the facts are known.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Emy Will says:

      I totally understand you anger, Purr and Roar. No nonhuman animal should suffer for human gratification. This is the 21st century and there are alternatives. Shame on Canada Goose and all who wear items made from suffering !!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. seewhysiu says:

    I love the title as it resonates very well with this topic. I just wrote a short post regarding fur usage as well and it was very difficult to even gather my overall thoughts on the topic. I personally am with the “no fur for me please” train but with the availability (to teens especially) who are so desensitized, and just go on purchasing Canada Goose Jackets (a big Canadian Brand) without a care is definitely another battle to tackle.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. cinnabar50 says:

    I never ceased to be shocked by such barbarity, inhumanity and lack of compassion for the animals with whom we share this world. There is no excuse in our modern day world, not even in cold climates, with synthetic fabrics there is no need for fur. It is sad that there is still today people who are willing to wear fur despite knowing the cruelty involved.

    Like

Leave a Reply

